Tutors Guide

Header Wave SVG

For information on using TutorCruncher Video click here.

Your Profile

When you log into your TutorCruncher account you can view your Dashboard. It shows the information you have provided to the company you are working with, as well as any jobs you are currently on.

You can add more details to your profile, such as your address and phone number, or any other information required by the company, by clicking the 'Edit' button. 'Amount Owed' corresponds to lessons marked as complete but not yet paid for by your agency (a lesson that has started, even if it has not finished, is considered as a Complete lesson).

Tutors Guide

Your Jobs

Your most recent open jobs are shown here. Jobs are the link between you and your students on TutorCruncher. If you click on the job you can view its details and - depending on the permissions your administrator allows - mark lessons as complete or schedule new lessons.

You can view all of your jobs by going to the My Jobs in the menu on the left hand.

Do you want to find out more about what subjects are the best to teach? Click here to read our blog post.

Your teaching skills

These are the skills you can teach. To add or edit skills, click on the edit symbol next to ‘Teaching skills’. Select a subject and the levels you can teach it at, add another if necessary, and click submit when you are done.

If you can teach a skill but can’t find it on the list ask the company you are working with to add a custom subject.

Want to learn about what other skills can help you become the best tutor? Click here

Your Qualifications

This is the place to list all relevant qualifications, both academic and industry, that would make you suitable to work for the company.

To add a qualification, click on the plus symbol, enter the relevant information, and click Submit. If you require additional qualification levels not on the list, ask your company to create the required custom qualification levels.

Your attended Institutions

Institutions show where you received your qualifications. Other notable institutions you attended but didn't get qualifications from can also be included.

If there is an institution that you would like to add but is not in the list, you can add it by going to Add Institution, and clicking Add Custom Institution.

Your Availability

Setting your availability will ensure that only lessons within the set period of time can be scheduled for you.

Go to your Dashboard and click the 'Set Availability' button. Select the available start and end times, then click the dates on the calendar where applicable, and click 'Save'. Alternatively you can create availability for several dates at once by clicking the 'Mass Create' button and filling in the details.

How to apply for a job

To view a list of jobs available for application go to Available Jobs.

View all available jobs.
View all available jobs.

This page gives you an overview of all the jobs you can apply to. You can filter the jobs by degree of qualification and view more details by clicking on the job. Apply from either the ‘Available Jobs’ page or the job’s page itself. On the application form you will be asked to fill out a short description about why you are a good choice for this job.

Apply for a job via TutorCruncher.
Apply for a job via TutorCruncher.

Depending on the company you are working with, you will get an email telling you if your application has been accepted or rejected.

You can view your pending applications by going to the Current Applications page in the menu.

How to add a lesson as a tutor

You can add a lesson to a job that you are assigned to. This is how you log your hours/submit a timesheet.

Step by step process

  • To add a lesson, first go to the job you want to add a lesson to.
  • Click ‘Add New Lesson’
  • Fill in the date and times of the lesson, as well as a short description.
  • If you create the lesson in the past, upon submitting you will be asked to fill in a lesson report that will be sent to the client.
  • The lesson is now created as completed.
  • You can see a link back to the job here.
  • If you create the lesson in the future, the lesson will be created as ‘Planned’.
  • You can mark it complete at a later stage by clicking on it, and clicking 'Mark Complete'.
  • To have a lesson repeat in the future go to a lesson and click on the button ‘Repeat’.
  • Set further definitions for the lesson and click Save.
  • The lesson status can be ‘Planned’, ‘Cancelled’, ‘Cancelled but chargeable’, or ‘Complete’.

Why can't I add/edit a lesson?

There are two possible reasons for this:

  • The lesson is on a sent or paid invoice or payment order. The invoice or payment order has to be marked as void to edit these lessons.
  • The job is marked as Finished. The job has to have any status other than Finished to edit lessons.

In both cases you will need to contact an administrator to resolve the problem.

How do I access the online whiteboard/video chat?

TutorCruncher Online Integrations, makes teaching students online even easier. The online tools you use to connect with your students can be accessed from your tutor dashboard or via each scheduled lesson.

If you have an upcoming lesson with a student, that is being hosted online you can just click the Online Integration button and instantly be connected to a unique room for you and your students. Depending on which online whiteboard you are using, you can use the different integrations to create engaging and interactive lessons for your students, regardless of the subject.

We currently have a number of whiteboard options available through TutorCruncher, which you can find out more about here. If you would like to utilize one of these tools, please get in touch with your tutoring agency.

Unsure about how to get the most out of your online lessons? Read our guide to tutoring online!

How to add an expense

You can add an expense to a lesson or job; which are generally used to claim money for travel, books etc.

Step by step process

  • On either a job’s or a lesson’s page, click on the plus symbol next to ‘Expenses’. Alternatively, go to Menu > Expenses and click ‘Add Expense’.

    Directly add an expense to a job or lesson.
    Directly add an expense to a job or lesson.
  • Fill in the description, date and amount. Select the category that reflects the type of expense you are entering, and select the relevant client, job and lesson (if applicable).

    Specify your expense further and click 'Submit'.
    Specify your expense further and click 'Submit'.
  • Once you click submit, the client will be charged when they are next invoiced, and you will receive the funds after that, providing the company agrees with your claim.

  • If you want to enter a document to substantiate the claim, you can go to the job and upload a document.

    Upload a document to explain the expense you generated.
    Upload a document to explain the expense you generated.

    Can I copy my details from one TutorCruncher agency to another?

Yes, some of your tutoring details can be copied over from one branch to another by linking your tutoring accounts.

When you create a new account with an agency using tutoring you will see a banner appear on your dashboard or during the sign-up process prompting you to link accounts.

Linking your profiles will allow you to access all your accounts with one login. This will also allow you to create a global profile, which can allow you to copy certain information from one branch to another. However there are also areas of a profile which cannot be copied over.

Why? As the TutorCruncher system is highly customisable lots of agencies will use subjects and qualifications. Furthermore lots of agencies have custom tutor profile set-ups meaning different information needs to be entered for different agencies. Therefore for some agencies very different information needs to be entered, meaning copying this information over is not an option

## Can I request to have my tutor profile deleted?

If you no longer use a tutor profile that is associated with an agency, you can request to have that account deleted. Navigate to the top right hand corner of your dashboard, and select the branch you no longer wish to have a profile with. Then go to ‘Account’, and select the tab at the top of the page for ‘Request Account Erasure’. A prompt will appear asking if you want to provide any further details on why you wish to be deleted from the system. Once you are happy to request account erasure, click save.